## **AVERY FIRE ASSOCIATION**

## August 4, 2016 - Seven Devils Town Hall

**The** regular monthly meeting of the Avery Fire Association was called to order by President Paul Buchanan. Members thanked the Seven Devils department for hosting the meeting and also thanked C.W. Williams for providing the barbeque dinner. The minutes of the July meeting were approved as posted on the website. Vice President Bobby Powell called the roll. All departments were represented except Fall Creek.

Salesman Mike White & service manager Wayne Smith with C.W Williams were introduced. Dick Gorham with MES was also introduced.

Melissa Phillips passed out her class list. She announced a Airplane simulator class September 9th & 10th and reported that the Burn Building had been repaired. The three county HazMat class was set beginning August 15th.

Members discussed HGAC purchasing and problems with the county contract that were supposed to be corrected last year. Charlie Franklin promised to work on the needed changes.

Ranger Joe Shoupe reminded members that the forestry grant period would end on Monday the 8th.

The Linville Department announced that Grandfather Mountain would be hosting 100 burn victims and asked for help at their department on Saturday. They also noted that the Mitchell/Avery Burn Foundation Chapter was short on money and needed volunteers to join their board.

Levin Sudderth asked the Association to sponsor a booth at the Avery County Fair.

Bob Garland reminded members to reprogram their pagers for the medical tone switchover. A motion was made to purchase the \$437.66 cables and software to reprogram pagers. It passed unanimously. Members were asked to call Bobby Powell to arrange for reprograming.

Charlie Franklin asked members to send needed I.D. changes to his office.

The Nominating Committee reported that they did not have a nominee for Vice President and the truck committee. The Committee nominated the following people for Association positions: Bobby Powell, president, David Charles Vance, treasurer, Jim Brooks, secretary, Johnny Mathis, Fire Commission.

The President opened nominations from the floor for president for 2 minutes. Hearing none, Bobby Powell was elected by acclamation. Paul Buchanan was nominated for vice president and was elected by acclamation after no other nominations were made. David Charles Vance and Jim Brooks were elected as treasurer and secretary by acclamation after receiving no other nominations. Johnny Mathis was elected to the fire commission by acclamation after receiving no other nominations. Charles Ballard, Den Gibbs & Brian Bodford were nominated for the 2-year term on the truck committee. Charles Ballard was elected. Brian Bodford & Mark Taylor were nominated for the 1 year term on the truck committee. Mark Taylor won.

The next meeting was set for September 1st at the Banner Elk Fire Station at 6:30 pm