## **AVERY FIRE ASSOCIATION**

## Seven Devils Town Hall - August 1st 2018

The regular monthly meeting of the Avery Fire Association was called to order by President Bobby Powell. All departments except Fall Creek were represented. The minutes of the previous meeting were approved as posted on the Association website. The Association bank balance was reported to be \$49,791.91 with all bills paid.

Paul Buchanan reported that he and Chief Pudney attended the Safe Schools meeting in Boone. He noted that North Carolina was one of the 1st states to implement the program. Avery & Watauga counties would be some of the 1st counties to use the system which will allow us to access school cameras and data during an event.

Member departments were asked to send a truck to the Avery High School August 11th for the Back To School Bash.

Melissa Phillips gave out a list of upcoming classes. She introduced her assistant - Rodina Clark who will be helping with classes when Melissa is not available. Melissa announced that she was working on evening firefighter classes and an EMT class in January. She noted that the burn building plan had been submitted to the architect.

Joe Shoupe announced that he would be holding a one night Wildland Refresher class at Beech Mtn Station two September 18th.

Members were reminded that there would be a joint meeting with the County Commissioners in September to reach agreement on wording before asking for a state statute change. Mike Laws said that he asked a county commissioner how things were going and he was told that everything was working fine.

Brian Bodford made a motion: to approve the renewal of the I Am Responding contract for three more years. The motion received a second and passed unanimously.

Paul Buchanan asked members to use talk group dipper 8 channel 10 when responding to large events

President Powell went of the voting requirements and opened the annual election. The Nominating Committee nominated Johnathon Shepard for president. Paul Buchanan nominated Scott Stansberry. There were no further nominations. Ballots were distributed and Scott Stansberry was elected president.

The Nominating Committee nominated Ken Sherrod for Vice President. There were no further nominations and he was elected by acclamation.

The Nominating Committee nominated Rob Hancock for Secretary. Mark Taylor nominated Johnathon Shepard. There were no further nominations. Ballots were distributed and Rob Hancock was elected Secretary.

The Nominating Committee nominated Rob Hancock for Fire Commission. Johnathon Shepard, Mark Taylor and Dale Benfield were nominated from the floor. There were no further nominations. Ballots were distributed and Rob Hancock was elected to the Fire Commission.

The Nominating Committee nominated David Charles Vance to serve as Treasurer. There were no further nominations and David Charles Vance was elected by acclamation.

The Nominating Committee nominated Charles Ballard to serve on the Truck Committee. There were no further nominations and Charles Ballard was elected by acclamation.

The Next meeting was set for September 6th at the Banner Elk Fire Station and the meeting was adjourned.